Glaciology is a performance art installation by Anandam Dance Theatre which was continuously active for the full 12 hours of Nuit Blanche Toronto 2015.

Glaciology: Being Inside the Glacier 

is a short documentary about the performer's experience.

Release date: January 26th 2016

A Film by Lisa Anita Wegner

Assistant Producer/ Talent Coordinator:  Veronica Silva

Location Manager: David Oliveira 

Sound Recording: David Oliveira and Ray Cammaert

Camera: Lisa Anita Wegner and Veronica Silva

Colour Correct: David Oliveira 

Opening Credit Sequence: Ray Cammaert 

Musical Score Recorded at Tinshop by Ray Cammaert 

Additional Glacier Footage courtesy of Brandy Leary, Anandam Dance Theatre and Ice CAPS

2015 Haus of Dada


Choreographer: Brandy Leary

Installation Sound: James Bunton

Using the movements of glaciers across the earth’s surface as an entry point, this piece explores states of density, collaboration, collapse, overpopulation, relocation, disruption, environmental tipping points, mass graves, icebergs, and melting ice caps. 

Glaciology is a site specific performance that combines choreography with human sculpture and interactive technology. This creates a surreal, constantly shifting image of bodies as landscape and simultaneously as capsules of history and memory; both human and geological.

Glaciology works with many bodies in motion to evoke the permanent effects of human and ecological conflicts. It takes the audience through the past centuries by overlapping and contrasting these images and ideas with the indelible power of glacial movements across landscapes.

Ensemble for Scotiabank Nuit Blanche 2015:

Adrienne Medjo  Alexander Taylor  Alisha Maclean  Amy Hampton  Amy Strizic  

Andrew Gaboury  Andrya Duff  Andy Wang  Anna Ho  Arnaud Baudry  Betty Zhang

Bridget Rieger  Brittany Howlett  Candace Kumar  Candice Irwin  Christine Birch

Collette Radau  Damarise Ste. Marie  Denise Solleza  Emily Saunders  Emma Chorostecki

Enya White  Eric Liu Greg Wong  Hannah Schallert  Hans Wolfgramm  Holly Timpener

Holly Treddenick  Jackie Houghton  Jackie McCaffrey  James Gagne  Janaki Banting

Jane Kirby  Jared Bishop  Jen Hum  Johannes Zits  Jordan Campbell  Jordyn Stewart

Justine Comfort  Kari Pederson  Katelyn McCulloch  Kerryn Graham  Kirsten Edwards

Lara Ebata  Laura Snider  Lindsay Goodtimes  Lindsey Thompson  Liona Davies

Lisa Anita Wegner  Louis Laberge-Cote  Margarita Soria  Margaryta Golovchenko

Marie Lambin-Gagnon  Mary-Margaret Scrimger  Meghan Van der Giessen

Michael Caldwell  Miles Gosse  Mugabi Mpagi  Natalie Fullerton  Nicole Belfer Nicole Nigro

Nicole Schachter  Nikolas Markakis  Oriah Wiersma  Quinn Morris  Rebecca leonard Sara Witalis

Sarah Hoedlmoser  Sarah Kim  Sarah Muehlbauer  Taliya Cohen  Tamara Arenovich  

Tamara Salpeter  Tanya Crowder Teresa Ascencao Tiffany Schofield Toni Largo

Zachary Murphy